So…

A blog of random thoughts on history, politics (Green Party, and no Obama is NOT a liberal), books, movies, writing, educational woes on both sides of the classroom, TV, SciFi/Fantasy, pets, hiking/nature watching, music, Richard Armitage, internet culture and whatever.

I have lived in Maine, Southern California and now I am in North Carolina, one of the battleground states in the current political/cultural war.

I self-identify as a geek, having been raised on SciFi (Dad) and Fantasy (Mom). I have been collecting comic books for 26 years. I am into TV/Movies and I am in the process of expanding my literary experience. A long, long time ago in a state far, far away I used to play AD&D and now sometimes play tabletop games with my friends. The only reason I don’t play video games is because I would never leave my apartment. I am not a tech enthusiast.

I enjoy historical fiction. Not historical romances so much as authors like Patrick O’Brian and Sharon Kay Penman. I don’t think there is any area of history I do not have at least some interest in, but my academic focus is maritime and eras are ancient and medieval. But my literary tastes are not confined to history.

I work at a university at the department level. One of the benefits of working for the school is two free classes a year, so I am sloooowly completing my degrees in History and Anthropology. I have a year of foreign language (Latin) left, my honors thesis, then three classes in each discipline.

I have a Boxer/Dalmation mix (who has the energy of a puppy at age eight), a Pit mix and three cats. All of my animals are rescues. In fact, they all found me.

Image

I am a well read woman who swears a lot. I am not kidding. Not just “damn” or “shit,” I drop the f-bomb frequently, call dicks out for their dickish behavior and have no fear of the dreaded c-word. (I don’t use it frequently, but you may to read it every once in a while.) I come from a military family, so the idea that “nice people don’t swear” is laughable to me.

I moderate comments for the internet is dark and full of fuckwits. I have no problem with people disagreeing with me, it’s what makes discussions fun, but some people have proven themselves to be bat-shit crazy.

…yeah. That’s it.

“For I am a sinner in the hands of an angry God. Bloody Mary full of vodka, blessed are you among cocktails. Pray for me now at the hour of my death, which I hope is soon. Amen.” ~ Sterling Archer

One thought on “So…

  1. Batshit crazy is right, there are so few of us reasonable, logical souls about on the net that I feel we should call ourselves an institute…Sorry, I’ve been listening to a lot of Paul Simon recently.

Leave a Reply

