Books Books Books

I love my Nook e-reader. LuvitLuvitLuvit. I can understand liking the feel of a physical book in your hand (though often people waxing poetic on it sound kinda pretentious, especially if they are under 27 and enjoy all the other modern technological conveniences/toys), but my Nook has proved a boon. As I mentioned before it has allowed me to make more space in my apartment and is a library of choices wherever I go.

As you all may have noticed on the sidebar, I have added a widget that goes to my Goodreads account. The Goodreads account is new. Up until recently I had been using Shelfari, but WordPress doesn’t have a widget for that site. I have been transferring reviews from one to the other.

Some handy links for those looking to fill their e-readers:

Project Gutenberg A website which provides electronic copies of any work in the public domain, sparing you from spending $2 to $5 on some Penguin edition or something. The texts from almost every century are scanned in and corrected by volunteer editors. Then translated into various formats for people to download into the various readers. I replaced my entire bookshelf of “classics” from this site, for nothing.

Bookbub This is a website that scans Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Apple, Smashword, Kobo and other purveyors of e-literature for their sales (almost all $2 and under) and posts them. You can sign up for a daily e-mail which will let you know the *some* of the latest deals, but it is worth checking the site everyday. 80% of what lands on their site is crap, but it is worth keeping an eye out for that 20%.

Harper Collins Bookperk. Another daily e-mailing of e-book deals, but this one direct from the publisher, they also advertise contests through this service.

Nook Daily Find They used to send out an e-mail notification about what book was on sale today, but the e-mail came to an end. So I check once a day. It’s worth poking through the Nook Books Under $5 every once in a while too. I have also found it is worth going through your Wishlist once a week. One of the books you have on there may be on sale.

Of course, that last bit is B&N-centric. If anyone has Kindle related shopping secrets or anymore good websites for getting cheap books, please let me know in the comments and I will add them.

Katherinej1012 suggested Indie Book Bargains.

17 thoughts on “Books Books Books

  1. Read your review of Herodotus. I was hesitant to read him as I didn’t want to be misinformed, but you have piqued my interest. You are my go-to chick on all matters pertaining to history, recent and ancient. Which leads me to ask: do you know where I put my car keys yesterday, 11th July 2014 CE?

    • Check the stratigraphy of your couch. šŸ˜‰

      Herodotus got a bad rap for a long while, but considering what he had to work with, he did a good job. And some of his tall tales turned out to have some element of truth in them:

      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gold-digging_ant

      Another example of this kind of mix up is in the new banner picture I put up (at the top of the blog) that is part of a fresco in an Etrustcan tomb.

      They are lions, drawn by someone who had obviously never seen one and was interpreting reports of them.

      Herodotus got as close to the truth as he could. Often getting right on it, and occasionally looking deeper. Interestingly he was the first person in the west to describe what would later be known as “the solider’s heart,” then “shellshock,” then “battle fatigue” and is now known as post trumatic stress disorder. He found a couple soliders of the Persian War who suffered lifelong emotional illness because of the what they had experienced.

      Thucydides (The Peloponnesian War) pushed forward the practice of objective research, but his work would not exist without the first steps Herodotus took.

      You are very kind. If I know something I am happy to share it, and if I don’t I will either find out or let you know I don’t. šŸ™‚

  2. Apparently Etruscans didn’t have cats because, you know, you’d just point to one and go-“Draw that, but bigger.” I’m fascinated by how historians work things out. How do they know it was supposed to be a picture of a lion? How do they know that the artist wasn’t just crap at drawing? Historians are ingenious critters.

    The history of PTSD from antiquity to today would be fascinating. Do you know if anyone’s written about it?

    I don’t trust teachers or experts who never say “I don’t know” or can’t admit when they’re wrong. This is why even if I were on speaking terms with a certain well-known fan and history teacher, I wouldn’t ask her anything. You, however, I will harrass with endless questions until you throttle me. I’m a curious little ladybug.:D

    • I know what you mean. I’m the same way.

      Well, The art in the tomb is very primative in general.

      http://www.thehistoryblog.com/archives/22

      As you can it’s stripes, those figures and some outlines of what are look like birds.

      There are alternate theories that they maybe horses, but it’s kind of hard to get around that great big head which would fit a description of a beast with a huge mane. It’s possible they are some sort of mythologial creature lost to antiquity. The Tomb of the Roaring Lions (which is what the tomb is called) is the from the 7th century BCE and is the earliest Eturuscan tomb found and earliest example of fresco work in Europe. Their art did improve over time.

      It’s a theory, but a very likely one.

      Interesting question about the PTSD. I took a seminar on the medicine and dieases of Ancient Greece and Rome, but I did not see any mention of it. (But that was focused on the physical side.) I poked around a bit and found that Shaksepeare may have noted it in Lady Percy’s monologue in Henry IV.

      http://www.monologuearchive.com/s/shakespeare_051.html

      I wonder if anyone one else in the arts noted it long before the medical community did?

      As far as I can tell, no one seems to have really noticed it medically until the American Civil War released so many veterans directly back into American society where some of them could not reintegrate. Nurses noted that veterans suffered depression (though not expressed in such clinical terms) and gravitated toward one another, the only other people who understood what they had been through. (That was when it was known as “soldier’s heart.”) Then it disappeared again until WWI when it was known as “shellshock.” The main character obviously suffers from it in All Quiet on the Western Front. Again, the medical community ignored it until WWII. It was noted but accepted as part of combat, not worth studying. It wasn’t until the veterans of the Vietnam War came back that the medical community really started to pay attention and study it.

      I have long wondered if the time of transport has anything to do with veteran reintegration and the severity of PTSD. With WWI and WWI, troops would spend weeks on ships getting home, time enough to process some of what they went through, to adjust to life without being shot at. I wonder if that time of transition made the effect less acute and noticable. Then in the Vietnam War, men flew from the combat zone back home in less than 24 hours, the shock making the PTSD worse. Total speculation on my part.

      But I am sure someone somewhere has done a much more through job researching this in history. If I can find anything, I will let you know.

      • Ages ago I came across the results of a study of PTSD in East Timorese civilians after the Indonesian withdrawal. It said that while most of the population suffered symptoms initially, those who still experienced symptoms twelve months later were mostly people on the edge of society with little or no support. This would jibe with the difference in PTSD rates between WW1 & 2 soldiers and Vietnam vets. Those who fought in the World Wars were heroes and embraced by their societies whereas Vietnam vets were outcasts.

        I’ve tried to find that study but can’t. My google-fu has failed me. I did find a report that said PTSD is experienced in all cultures. I imagine there are many factors that affect the onset and severity of PTSD.

      • That *is* interesting, and makes a lot of sense. Sadly. PTSD is a complex disorder, and I imagine like any emotional disorder, it requires support to deal with it.

    • Interesting side note: The Ancient Greeks though women got sick because the uterus moved around the body. Not shifted slightly, but would move up to the brain and such, like it was on roller skates. šŸ˜€

      When studying the ancient world, you kind of have to take some things with a grain of salt.

      • *chuckle* For millenia women’s bodies were not properly examined because of social taboos. (And why midwives handled childbrith rather than doctors.) That’s the main reason why I would never want actually live in the past: Medcine was barbaric in general and for women was completely ignorant.

        Interestingly, I poked around a bit and found the Koreans actually found a way around this in the 1300’s.

        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Uinyeo

  3. I had no idea women DIED because it was “inappropriate” for male doctors to examine them! At the other extreme we have French queens giving birth in a room full of looky loos. (Possibly queens from other lands enjoyed the same delightful experience but I’m an ignoranus when it comes to history.)

Leave a Reply

