And Now, a Word from Our Sanity…

Some pics from the trip home.

(If these were just mine, I seriously would not care. But some of these are my brother’s. He is a professional photographer, so I’m going to have to be something of a jerk about this: All pictures, copyright members of my family, all rights reserved etc.)

So, day of arrival (I kid you not) taken from the family dock.

IMG_1981

Yeah, the family place (formerly my Grandparents house)  is on a lake. We grew up in the same town (which was just about 1,000 people, let’s put it this way, the local High School covered four towns and had an average graduating class of 90), but our house was back in the woods on 19 acres of pine grove, with another 60 across the road, that I ran around in pretending to be an Indian because Indians are cool.

Cowboys being a rather thin on the ground in New England, Cowboys and Indians wasn’t a big game growing up. It was Indians and Redcoats. French & Indian and Revolutionary Wars left an impact.

My Dad and Grampa used to own one of these.

IMG_2127

Until the Recession in the late 1970’s. As Grampa said, “180 horses is a lot of mouths to feed.” 😦

But it was awesome growing up there and it is still awesome.

The lake itself has Loons (a personal favorite) and I saw a Bald Eagle circling rather low over the neighbor’s beach as if to say, “Why yes, you can go ahead and leave that toddler alone for a moment. They’ll be fiiiine.” I did not get a pic as I did not want to take my eyes off it to run in the house for my camera. I spent a lot of time with the kids swimming, kayaking and jumping & diving off my brother’s sailboat.

We dumped my Mom’s ashes at sea (and yes, there was some blowback that got a fellow passenger in the face. It was just a tiny bit, but so embarrassing)  and took the tour the tour around Casco Bay.

Yeah, it really looks like that

IMG_2088IMG_2051CascoBay

Where your lobster comes from:

IMG_2099 IMG_2092

I can’t believe lobster rolls are 15$ dollars apiece now. I remember getting them at the local sandwich shack for like 3 or 4$

We stopped by the State Park run animal sanctuary/zoo, the last place rescued wild animals end up when they can’t be returned to the wild.

The Moose, a deer designed by a committee.

Moose2

This is young male, there was an older one with a full rack lazing back in the woods. And yes, Moose eat bark, among other things.

Moose

A female.

The Eastern Moose (which is what this particular subspecies is) stands six to seven feet high at the shoulder and weighs between 600 to 800 lbs. In short, they are too big to care.

Except when they are not:

BabyMoose

D’aaaawwww! And you can see his tan stockings.

Mountain Lion

Young cougar, just losing his baby spots.

More to follow.

Good night.

IMG_2310 - Version 2

 

3 thoughts on “And Now, a Word from Our Sanity…

    • Well, when I left (when my Dad had to move us to L.A. for work) I was in my teens. In a small town like where I grew up, my peers had nothing to almost do but steal a six-pack and go back in the woods and get drunk, and later practice getting pregnant. So I think I was very fortunate to move to a big city when I did. I could walk for 15 minutes to go to a movie theatre or take the bus to beach or the mall. As I got older and my friends and I could drive, we could go into L.A. to museums, little art house theatres, restraunts with cusines from around the world, hang out in coffee shops (real ones, not Starbucks) late at night, go to clubs and see shows, make friends with people from different backgrounds, ethnicities, lifestyles. I was blessed really to have access to that stimulating, cosmopolitan culture when I most needed it to help my mind expand.

      But as I got into my 30’s I found L.A. was too big, too busy. It was almost hard to breathe. I needed a slower pace of life. Where I am now is a nice halfway point between my hometown and L.A.; a University town of 120,000 (including the student body). Still getting the intellectual stimulation, but not as much pressure. There are woods I can go walking everymorning to clear my head and focus and just breathe. But I miss Maine with an ache and I do want to return home. And Maine is not as isolated as it was when I was growing up, so it won’t be quite as stifling as before.

Leave a Reply

