Floatsam and Jetsam

I know I have been promising a post on Israel/Palestine, but frankly the heavy stress of the last two weeks has induced a crash. And when I read back over what I had written, I realized it could all be found here and in post-2000 detail here. Though it does leave off the most recent development of Israel seizing yet another 1,000 acres of land in the West Bank.

At the end of the analysis the resulting conclusion is: “They are both assholes.” Palestine are assholes for electing and supporting Hamas, who simply can’t stop starting deadly shit and are more trouble than they are worth. Israel are assholes because every time they talk about peace they put up another illegal settlement in the West Bank. What pisses me off the most is both Muslims and Isrealis  have offed their own leaders for making peace over Israel’s existence. Because both sides are assholes. The only solution I have at this point is to demand the U.N. rescind Palestine’s non-Member Observer State status until they kick out the terrorist group they have elected to govern them. And for the U.S. to stop sending gobs of military aid to Israel. The whole, “Israel has a right to survive” argument is moot. They are there with the best equipped a military (and that’s beside the fact they have nukes) and the one of the most aggressive intelligence agencies in the planet. No one, outside of the Palestinians (who do not have the ability to drive them out), has made a move to attack Israel in decades. They are not going anywhere. The problem I am having is Israel is using my tax dollar to support their assholery. Up until 2003 (when the top spots were taken by Afghanistan and Iraq for some strange reason), they received far and away more foreign aid than any other country we sent aid to, both in money and military equipment. We bought the bombs they are now taking out entire city blocks with.

So fuck that. I say keep the money, and get the U.K. to keep their money too, and let Israel stand on its own for a while. Maybe they would come to peace negotiations in good faith if they realized that the two Rottweilers that have been standing behind them for 60 years are gone.

And I reiterate, both sides are assholes.

ISIS/ISIL is an extreme form of assholes (but hey, they make the trains run on time) that I agree should be dealt with, hard, and I think NATO, et al. is taking the right approach. If the U.S. wades in there by itself again, we’re just going to destabilize the region and piss the locals off worse than we already have. And as I said before, we should help people escape and let them come to the U.S. (if they want) to live their lives in peace.

So those are my thoughts of the Levant and Middle East.

Other thoughts floating through at random:

~ The Funny, Unusual Things Mainers Say. Some of these are pronunciations, but many are words and phrases you won’t find outside Maine.

Maine has the most difficult accent in the U.S. to replicate. Several friends have heard/read me say this. It is a very difficult accent, the only way I can think to describe it is that it’s kinda like the Boston Southie accent, where ‘You Pahk yeh Cah…” but instead of going through the nose, it comes more from the back of the throat…but not entirely, and slower, dragging out in a certain words along a certain cadence.

Bert and I is a collection of local humorous tall tales collected and told during 1950’s/60’s radio programs by Marshall Dodge with his partner Bob Bryan. (Sadly, a couple of my favorites are not included here.) Ironically, neither was actually a Native, they just spent a lot of time in Maine growing up. This is a slightly exaggerated version of  the accent I grew up surrounded by, especially in my grandparents’ generation. Of course, these days homogenizing force of the media has caused the accent to fade a great deal, though it is still definitely there in in the Natives. Just more subtle.

Tim Sample is another Maine comedian. Maine humor wavers between the pithy commentary/comeback and the drawn out tall tale.

Most actors don’t even try to replicate the accent. As awesome movie it is, no one in Shawshank Redemption sounds like they are from Maine. The one actor who came the closest in any film or TV show I have seen is Jeff Bridges in Gettysburg. And I would say he only got 60% there.

~ Comic Books are the most self-aware art form there is. No parodies comic book tropes, no one slips in more references from within the genre, no one comments on and has the back and forth with the fanbase like comic book writers and artists. Even some of the characters themselves are commentary on the genre. I guess because no one took them seriously for so long, comic book writers and artists never took themselves so seriously that they got snooty about their art form. They could always look at it from an objective viewpoint, while loving it entirely.

empowered__s_supergirl_cosplay_by_adamwarren-d3itk84

I’ll write more on that later when I talk about this comic, a soft core send up that evolved into a really great story.

~ Since I am in retreat mode, I have been power-watching Attack on Titan on Netflix.

Shorewood Blu-ray Ocard

I’m not a huge fan of Manga or Anime. I have seen a couple I really like (everyone needs to see Perfect Blue)  and a lot that were just “Meh.” I respect the art forms and have enjoyed the influence and fresh stories and tropes they are injecting into the various mediums of the SciFi and Fantasy genres here in the West, but I don’t get into them that much. The uh…almost random OTT emotional outbursts sometimes get to me. It’s hard to get into a story when you just want to tell the hero/heroine to take a Valium, smoke a joint and chill out. (And I am completely open to  someone explaining exactly what is up with that.)  But I had a friend recommend this one to me and it is really good. Most people in the U.S. might find it weird. (It’s Japan after all, the  world’s largest exporter of “weird” since 1960. 😉 ) But conceptually, this is pretty interesting and the plot becomes very compelling. I also have to tip my hat to a show brave enough to play with the pacing as this does, jumping years and the devoting four episodes to a single battle, and making it work. And while being an action based series, it does not ignore the frailties and humanity of the heroes or the human cost of war.

~ I have to start the research for my term paper this weekend.

~ The doctors changed my meds to see if we can stabilize me some more.

~ Several people have been kind enough on FanFiction.Net to favorite me and follow my self-indulgent stories. Stories I have not even looked at in years. I’m almost scared to. But I have one that stalled out that I should finish. Maybe writing would stabilize me better than medication can.

10 thoughts on “Floatsam and Jetsam

  1. I’m not touching the first half of your post because I am in desperate need of de-angering. Lately my pissed-offedness refuses to dissipate and instead accumulates. If I get one iota angrier about anything I will spontaneously combust. So let’s move on to anime. Have you seen Hayao Miyazaki’s stuff? It’s beautiful. Just don’t watch Grave Of The Fireflies until you decide that you need more sadness in your life. It’s tragic.

    What is your term paper about? I’ll keep the coffee coming this weekend. Do you take milk? Sugar? I’ll even slip ya the occasional Tim Tam. (The greatest biscuit ever created by man or god. )

    How are the new meds going?

    All these questions and more can wait for answers until you have nothing better to do but respond to my jibber-jabber. 😛

    • I have heard about Grave of the Fireflies, and how incredibly tragic and depressing it is, but have not seen it. I have to steel myself for such films. I have seen a lot of Miyazaki’s work (actually, Grave of the Fireflies was produced by Studio Gihbli, but was written and directed by the co-founder of Gihbli, Isao Takahata), but there is also a lot that has not made it to the U.S., at least not in a big way like Princess Monoke and Spiirted Away. I’ve alo seen Nausicaa: Valley of the Wind, Kiki’s Delivery Service, Porco Russo, My Neighbor Totoro, Howl’s Moving Castle and Ponyo. Howl remains my favorite. 🙂 I want to see The Wind Rises, and you have just reminded me to go look for it.

      My term paper is a comparison of lunar goddesses from around the world to find common atributes and ritual practices. I have one from each continent picked out. The question is can I find enough information about them to make a 15 pages of it.

      It’s only the first day, and to be honest, I’ve spent most of it asleep (it’s been a really bad couple weeks), so I can’t really tell yet. 🙂

      The situation in the Middle East enrages me as well, moreso because I know we had a big hand in creating it.

      How are you doing?

      • Ah, so GOTF was by someone else. Maybe that explains why I didn’t like it. One of the only other Studio Ghibli films I didn’t enjoy is Tales From Earthsea, which was directed by Miyazaki’s son. I found the testicles too distracting in Pom Poko.

        Are all lunar deities female? Any female solar deities?

        I am fine, thanks. Hope your paper is going well.

    • http://nosvideo.com/?v=ubwk0hi5xw7d

      And now I have seen The Wind Rises. It’s a lovely film, a slow paced story that unwinds naturally. Not historically accurate, at least not as far as Horikoshi’s personal life is concerned, but Miyazaki never claimed it to be. It’s more mythology than history (which is what he excels at), but still a beautiful story. One I wish my Dad could have seen. He was a former Navy pilot and simply loved flying. He’d had a romantic attachment to planes ever since he was a kid. Despite having rhuematic fever as a child, he persued it. The heart damage eventually grounded him, which broke his heart in a way from which he could never recover. He would have loved this film.

      • Oh that’s so sad about your dad but it’s awesome that he was a pilot. Is the film sad. I got a melancholy vibe from the trailer.

      • It’s not Grave of the Fireflies sad, but “melancholy” is a very suitable word for it and there is a lot of hope and inspriation as well. The real Horikoshi’s personal life was nothing like what was portrayed in the film, so that relieves some of the burden too.

        Yeah, it’s one of those stupid things we never thought to ask him: How did he become or pilot after the rhuematic fever (which he had for almost a year), which should have precluded him from flying. I think he probably hid it. It would have been pretty easy to do with only small town doctor records in the 1960’s. He never flew fighters, which are higher stress on the body, mostly submarine patrols (two tours on the USS Wasp, he actually saw a blue whale while on patrol once) and transport planes, but he still loved it. After he left the Navy, he and Grampa owned a Cessna sea plane together and he used to fly us around to local lakes for picnics and such when I was a kid. He loved planes until the day he died.

        “Pilots are confused souls that talk about flying when they’re with women and talk about women when they’re flying.”

      • Interesting story Dad used to tell: One of his squadron commanders had two Navy Crosses (which is the 2nd highest medal the Navy gives out) for valour during WWII, but he could never get him to talk about it (not without copious amount of alcohol anyway). But if he asked the guy about flying the Berlin Airlift, he couldn’t get him to shut up about it. Despite the Crosses, the Berlin Airlift was the proudest moment for him as a pilot.

Leave a Reply

