The Last Things…Oh, and That Guy

To be anti-climactic:

19. This year I have to get bifocals. I have been puting it off by taking off my glasses when I read, but that just is not hacking it anymore. I’ve been wearing glasses since I was 11 (and needed them long before that), no problem. But that’s… well, that’s a bit of a shocker. I’m only 43.

I remember that first time I got glasses, I was freaked out by how sharply defined the world actually was.

20. The first fiction I wrote was X-Men fanfic, and Chris Claremont is a huge influence on me as a writer. What can I say? You never forget your first. Or in this case, second. Kipling was my first.

And just for funsies, let’s swing this meme into another meme:

Ten Books That have Stayed With You

1. The Jungle Book – Rudyard Kipling

2. The Name of the Rose – Umberto Eco

3. The Rainbow – D.H. Lawrence

4. Watership Down – Richard Adams

5. Dubliners & Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man (I have them as one book) – James Joyce.

6. HMS Surprise – Patrick O’Brian.

7. Here Be Dragons – Sharon Kay Penman

8. Scaramouche – Rafael Sabatini

9. The Whale Rider – Witi Ihimaera

10. New Mutants: Demon Bear arc/Uncanny X-Men #274 “Crossroads” – Chris Claremont.

Now I challenge Caty, Nell and Augustick!

So…

TheCrucible1

After twelve weeks, scores of rave reviews from critics, hundreds of rave reviews from audience members, The Old Vic 2014 production of The Crucible has wrapped.  Congratulations to all the cast and crew on such a resounding success.

And congratulations to Richard Armitage on laurels well-earned. I have yet to see the performance, I look forward to its release on Digital Theatre (and I will review when I see it), but I will take everyone’s word for it. I am so glad you have had a chance to challenge yourself this way and that you surmounted it so completely. I know this was an endurance trial as well, yet you have seemed so happy in your interviews during this period, I hope that you return to theatre on a  regular basis to feed your soul.

Now put your feet up and have a glass on me.

wine1

…so to speak. Tell you what, I’ll just donate 8$ to one of your charities. That covers a good glass of wine these days, doesn’t it?

Wine

16 thoughts on “The Last Things…Oh, and That Guy

  1. Novinophobia! LMAO! I have actually texted friends at midnight to ask them where I can get winebecause my bestie and I were on one of our binges and we’d run out. Curse our bloody liquor licensing laws! I can’t share any of your book loves, particularly D.H.Lawrence. I loathe him. Didn’t mind the Jungle Books. I read Watership Down as a kid or young teen and it was too sad for my liking. Very good but very sad.

    • A challenge?
      You’re going to make me list my fav book?
      Oh, bugger I can’t remember what day it is…
      About Hisnibbs, totally agree, he can have a glass of something nice on me (and by nice I mean actually ‘nice’, wee bit of Four Roses, or some Jameson single malt?)

      UK joke about Essex Girls and wine…
      What’s an Essex girl’s favourite wine?
      “I wanna go Lakeside…”
      Classy bunch ‘ere.

    • Well, what are you favorites then?

      Watership Down was very sad at points, and very harrowing at others, but in the end it was a happy ending most of the group, as well as the warren itself. I found it tremendously moving when I read it in the 5th grade, and I still do. Someone did a paper on the political viewpoints expressed through the story, but I don’t care. It’s a damn good story with great characters.

      Why do you hate Lawrence?

      • I didn’t mind Lady Chatterly’s Lover. It was “Women In Love” that put me right off him. The way he wrote women was like a snotty adolescent boy who was sure he knew all about them but didn’t actually have a clue. Also some of the symbolism was groaningly heavy handed. When the man jumped into the lake to save the drowning girl and she pulled him down and they both drowned…yeah, we get it, women drag men down and suck the life out of them, very clever. I also felt that he was Mary Sue-ing with the character of Rupert and came off as a pretentious twat. I did really like the film of The Rainbow. The guy who directed it, Ken Russell, made ‘Gothic’ which I was a big fan of.

        Any story where even a single bunny dies does NOT have a happy ending!

      • Well, Rupert probably was a Mary Sue, so I can see that. (Sorry, Sons and Lovers was his most autobiogrpahical work. I got them confused in my early morning haze.) I don’t think that is what he intended to convey with the drowning though. But yes, it is heavy handed. The Rainbow I loved as a teen because it did speak to me as a woman. And when I went back and read it a couple year ago, it still did only with more depth and insight than I was capable to understanding when I was 16.

        RE: Watership Down. True, I can completely sympathize with not enjoying reading about animals dying, especially if you are like me and tend to find them more easier to get attached to than most human characters. But it one of those “the reality and brutality of nature” things, much like The Jungle Book is. But if you don’t weep at the death of Akela, you have no soul.

    • It’s cropped from Gustave Caillebotte’s The Yerres, The Effect of Rain.

      Caillebotte is most famous of Paris, A Rainy Day, but that one doesn’t even rank in the top five for my favorite works of his. He is my favorite Impressionsist. For some reason, he is always left off the list of “Greats.” I have no idea why.

      • Oooh, I’d never heard of him. Beautiful, it is. And yer can tell he’s a good painter ’cause it looks real and stuff. One tiny criticism- I woulda put some swans on the river. Maybe a couple ducks too. And a clown. Something for the kiddies.

      • Yeah, he’s the most wonderful Impressionist no one has ever heard of.


        And the wierd thing is he was not out there, artsictally or physically, like Cezzane was. He was right in the middle of it with with Monet and Renoir and that whole crowd. He hung out with them. Yet he escaped notice.

Leave a Reply

