Banned Books Week, September 21st through the 27th.

Gaiman Yankovic Martin

Tomorrow begins Banned Books Week in which we celebrate two of the most precious rights of humankind: Freedom of Speech and Freedom to Read & Learn.

I’d like to start a meme. Would everyone in our little circle, sometime within the next week, like to post something about a book they have read that was judged by someone, at some point, to be offensive, salacious, or otherwise an affront to “good people?”

In short, rude, crude and socially unacceptable? 😉

(In fact, I’ll do that one.)

And if you don’t have a blog (*ahem*Caty*), I’d be happy to post your piece here.

Here are some of the books that have been banned by governments for one reason or another over the years

It of course leaves off many of the books that various school districts have tried to ban, such as Catcher in the Rye, To Kill and Mockingbird and Slaughterhouse Five.

And here is a list of book that people tried to ban in 2013.

Whaddayasay?

 

10 thoughts on “Banned Books Week, September 21st through the 27th.

  1. Fifty Shades of Gray was challenged for being unsuitable for age group? This must have been a high school library. Or maybe some cheeky librarians were trolling their primary schools. Or a very bored kindergarten teacher left it in the wrong place after her lunch break.

    I accept your challenge and will post in favour of banning books…sorta..well not really but I will play devil’s advocate. I’ll also talk about my struggle with censorship and a notorious piece of propaganda.

    • That sounds like a thought and discussion-provoking post. I look forward to it. 🙂

      (Very bored indeed, or they got it to giggle over how bad it was.) I think 50 Shades was challenged at a couple city/town libraries as well. Most of them don’t have an “adult” section.

  2. The Kings Bed Margaret Campbell Barnes
    Sense and Sensibility Jane Austen
    The Green Darkness Anya Seton
    The Vizard Mask Diana Norman
    Gate to the Women’s Country Sheri Tepper
    Maquis George Millar
    My Life and Loves Frank Harris
    The Day the Universe Changed James Burke
    The Magicians Nephew C S Lewis
    Judas My Brother Frank Yerby
    World War Z Max Brooks
    OK, that’s 11, but as I can’t count (It’s a syndrome, sue me!)

    • Well, if I could have gone on I would have also named The Silver Linings Playbook. That moved me to tears.

      This is a good list. I have not heard of some of these books, but if you like them, I need to check them out.

      • To be honest Maquis/George Millar and My Life and Loves/Frank Harris are not necessarily ‘good books’ but they did have lasting influence on the way I saw the world, mainly that things are rarely what they seem.
        I wasn’t sure if you wanted a short synopsis or the reasons they were on the list, ‘cos to be honest that would take me quite some time, and you know how slow I am at this stuff.
        As for the ’20 things you don’t know about me’, well I think I may have blabbed pretty much all there is on the personal front (one or two exceptions there, but they are MASSIVELY embarrassing, and never coming out, ever!)
        I’m a very short, fat, talkative old lady with far to much going on in her head to worry about the dunderh’eds out there, but then you all know that…

      • Interesting. Many of my books are not exactly classic literature too, but that was the point: Not the best books, but the books that meant the most to you. Still going to take a look at them.

        I didn’t include rationale/synposis for the same reason. I would go on and on.

        I’d never force a thing I don’t know about you out of you. 🙂 I’ve got a couple of those myself.

        One thing I completely forgot to mention in the “20 things” (though perhaps I mentioned this to you at some point) was that my first job after High School was as a Pantry Chef in a 4 star restraunt. I worked at St. Estephe in Manhattan Beach and did the salads and deserts. I love to cook, but I came to hate doing it for a living. I became completely burned out and wouldn’t cook at home at all. (I also found myself coming home and getting stoned by myself, bad sign.) Meanwhile I watched the other Chef at the stations next to me not only thrive, but practically get off on the stress. That’s when I realized great chefs are born, not made. I also realized I’m a good cook. I’m not a great cook. I quit after one year. I value the experience, but I would never do it again. It was nine hours of hell every day.

        But I do love chef reality shows, especially the competition ones (the sheer creativity involved is impressive and I learn about ingredients I have never heard of before). And frankly, if I *had* to go back, I would have no problem working for Gordon Ramsey. He is a hard ass, but then all Executive Chef/Owners are hard asses because their reputation depends on what you are doing. Yes, he yells and swears at people, but he is consistant. My boss was an “artiste type” who was moody and passive-aggressive. Genius, absolutely, but not easy to work for. Nice most of the time, but if you were doing something wrong, he wouldn’t tell you outright. He got snippy or pulled some other wierdness. My station was miniscule. There was the cold table and I could take one step back and run into the fridge (which I shared with the Sous Chef). I could not even stretch my arms out on either side without smacking the Sous Chef in the face. Sedlar (my boss) came and stood behind me during a shift. It became so difficult to work my station, I finally “acidentally” elbowed him and he got the hint. Fortunately, he laughed it off, realizing that was not the best place to watch me work.

        I also taught the kitchen staff that it is not wise to sexually harass a woman in a knife-rich environment. Also one with oven cleaner. It was never terribly bad. Since I did not have a car, Dad picked me up so in there eyes, I was a “good girl” so most of them were playfully flirting rather than harassing. It was only the resident kitchen staff perv and the resident wait staff perv who each really stepped over a line. One groped my ass and got a knife waved at him. The other asked me an extremely, EXTREMELY inappropriate question and got a short burst of oven cleaner in the face. He managed to close his eyes in time (thank the Gods), but they both left me alone after those incidents.

      • I forgot my fav poetry books too…horror of horrors!!!!
        Once Upon a Rhyme/ 101 poems for young children compiled by Sara and Stephen Corrin (I loved reading these to my kids)
        Here Today/ An anthology by Ted Hughes (this was a school book, and I loved it still)
        And any Yeats, I know, I know, but he wrote one of the loveliest lines I ever heard, ‘a lonely impulse of delight’. That’s enough for me.

Leave a Reply

