Closure

A couple weeks ago someone from the RA fanbase contacted me to check in and see how I was since apparently my silence has raised some concern among some folks. I appreciated that. πŸ™‚

She also mentioned by JPK/J fanfics which I wrote oh so long ago and left the last one unfinished. Ever since she mentioned it to me, JP has been popping up in my dreams. Not like, every night, but enough for me to think my subconscious is telling me something.

So yes, I will finish the last JPK/J fanfic, JPJ: India.

Now this is straight up author insertion/fantasy (or at least an idealized version thereof, but not as idealized as y’know, a full blown Mary Sue), so I know that is not for everyone. Totally understandable. But obviously, this is something I gotta do no matter how potentially embarrassing it is. πŸ˜€

If anything, maybe it will help kick start writing again.

3 thoughts on “Closure

  1. Just read all of your poetry at once. Couldn’t stop. I didn’t have any interest in RA related fic but I really wanted to see what your fiction writing was like. (Great fan of your non-fiction writing. πŸ˜€ ) I’ll read your short stories next but had to stop by and gush embarrassingly – you are a talented writer and unfortunately literary criticism has never been one of my strengths because you deserve more eloquent praise than “I love your writing” but that’s all I got for ya!

  2. Just read “Cipher” and it is so insightful about the psychology of the stalker fan. I loved that you addressed the ethics of fan behaviour and showed such empathy in your portrayal of the actor’s point of view. Ethics and empathy are two topics that seem increasingly taboo in modern culture. On the downside, it triggered my need to go and punch a certain Big Name Fan in the metaphorical face. Apparently, while I have left RA behind I haven’t quite left behind all the feelings about his fandom. 😑

    • Thanks you. You are very kind. Sorry i did not reply sooner. I was out with a chest cold and spent most of the weekend unconscious.

      I’m glad you liked my poetry. I hope I wasn’t too self indulgent. Poetry always tends to be.

      I wrote Cipher in response to the gilded road to hell I saw a certain BFN leading people down. I just did not get the idea of saying “I respect and admire this person” and then proceed to show no respect for their personal boundaries. Isn’t that where basic human respect starts?

      But I’m glad you liked it and I hope it was not too “soap-boxy.”

      I too have some residual resentment against the fandom, but then I to remember the good people I met in it.

Leave a Reply

